Tags

, , , , , ,


For the past two weeks I have been complaining about having to go on a 10-day work trip. The weather in Denver is beautiful and everything is happening. I didn’t want to leave. So I whined and moaned about having to be away so long and wouldn’t allow myself to see any positive side to the trip. Oh, I should probably mention the destination(s): Germany and the UK. Yes, I’m an awful person for not jumping for joy at the word “go”. I’m spoiled rotten and should have my passport revoked. To my credit, I’ve been loving the heck out of my life in Denver. New friends, new experiences, the beautiful outdoors. You tell me to leave and I whine like a small child.

Once the flight was booked I figured I needed a weekend plan, so I reached out to a fellow RCPM fan I met in Mexico a couple summers ago who lives in the UK. She was free and, apparently, lives conveniently close to places like Stonehenge, Bath and Whales. She threw out those and other suggestions and the first smile began to crack. For the Germany portion of the trip, I solicited advice form friends and realized I was headed to maybe the only place better known for beer than my current hometown. Maybe this won’t be so bad after all. As it got closer I complained a bit less and promised I’d lighten up once the travel day crammed in coach is over. Nothing like an uncomfortable transatlantic flight, rubbing elbows and knees with your neighbor for 8 hours.

And now, here I am, sitting at the Weihenstephan beer garden, looking out over Freising with a smile on my face. In fact, the moment we landed and I allowed myself to acknowledge being back in Europe I was pretty darn happy. Sadly I won’t get to see any of my Amsterdam friends, but the next few days will be filled with friendly colleagues. The time will fly by, many pictures will be taken, and before I know it I’ll be flying back the other way across the pond. More than likely already hungry for my next trip back to this beautiful, historic, culture-filled land.

Prost

