Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


View from the apartment over Rijksmuseum and to the West

There had been talk around the office for a few weeks about my going to Europe to work with the client I’d been working for while in Amsterdam. Then Friday the trigger was pulled and my flight booked. And today, Thursday, September 19th, nine months and two days since I left Amsterdam, I am back.

I landed very early this morning, took the train then the tram to my friend’s apartment (the one who almost got crushed by the refrigerator in this little experience), caught up, took a nap, then went back to my former employer to catch up with colleagues. It’s difficult to explain how, exactly it feels to be here but mostly it’s great. I love and adore this city and would probably still be here if it weren’t so far from home, from family. I’ll sort through that later. For now, I’ll enjoy the view from this apartment, the opportunity to spend time with people I haven’t seen for nine months and the city in general.

So happy to see that blue plane and to be getting onto it
So happy to see that blue plane and to be getting onto it
Arriving at Schiphol Airport

Arriving at Schiphol Airport

Ah yes, the commute to the office where I don't have to drive.

Ah yes, the commute to the office where I don’t have to drive.

Just a little happy to be back and in a scarf. It's chilly and rainy here. Shocking, I know.

Just a little happy to be back and in a scarf. It’s chilly and rainy here. Shocking, I know.

