Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Especially in recent years, I’ve enjoyed everything about the number 13. Probably not for any reason in particular, but I don’t buy into the unlucky connotation it carries in the US. Friday the 13th and 2013? Bring it on. And I must say, if the first month and a half of the year are any indication, triskaidekaphobia (fear of 13) is absolutely no part of my being.

I rang in the new year with my dearest friend in Thailand and proceeded to spend the entire month of January doing as little as humanly possible. Coming back to the States, I find myself surrounded by family and friends. I’ve been to three states since being back and have already made more wonderful memories than any one person could ask for. I feel insanely lucky for the people, places, things I have come back to and am thankful to feel welcomed back with open arms and hearts.

The fate of this blog is still undecided as I’m not sure what would be as interesting to share as the stories these past two years, but life has a way of surprising us. Which brings to mind a quote from a movie I recently watched on some transcontinental flight:

Most times real life doesn’t measure up to what’s in our heads, but every now and then it comes pretty close. -The Magic of Belle Isle

Yeah, that.

Now, halfway through February, I’m getting back into the swing of things at work – a new job at an old company – and making plans for fun adventures in the coming months. So far that’s one of my favorite parts of being back – getting to make plans for the future, knowing where I’m going to be and who will be around. I look forward to making a home for myself somewhere, to settling in a bit, to planting some roots in the ground for a while. It’s you and me 2013, let’s do this.

Up For Air

Seis Amigas

