Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


4 (four; /ˈfɔər/) is a number, numeral, and glyph. It is the natural number following 3 and preceding 5. Source: Wikipedia (Ooh…a glyph!)

Four has always been one of my favorite numbers. I don’t know why, but several of my softball jerseys through the years were four. When asked to pick a number I often default to four. But on this day, I’m not so happy with my favorite number because four is the exact number of weeks I have left in Amsterdam in 2012. Sometimes four weeks can feel like an eternity, but at the moment it feels like no time at all. I will publicly admit, I’m more than a little sad to be seeing my time in Amsterdam coming to a close so quickly. Four weeks to do all the things left on my list – museums, restaurants, bars, Heineken Brewery, time with friends, Utrecht, Rotterdam and to hand over two years worth of work I’ve invested so much of myself in. It’s all a little overwhelming to be quite honest.

With that in mind, I guess it’s no surprise that the response I get when telling people I’m leaving Amsterdam is: You don’t seem very excited. Well, I guess that’s because I’m not. At least not yet. I absolutely love Amsterdam and though it isn’t home in the sense of being close to family or feeling like a place I could settle down, the city has captured a big chunk of my heart and I’ll always carry that with me. That is what I see and feel today – the part where I’m saying goodbye to this wonderful place and these wonderful people. I don’t yet spend much time thinking about what’s next as I’d rather live in the here and now, enjoy the remaining four weeks and make the most of this month in Amsterdam.

There are many exciting things waiting on the other side of that transatlantic flight – reunions with friends, holidays with family, a five week trip to Southeast Asia, and the next step in my career (which is yet to be determined and the only thing I am consciously working on that side of 2013). So don’t be mistaken when I tell you how much I love this life followed by the fact that I am leaving it behind in four short weeks or when I come across flat when I talk about what’s next for me. I am comfortable and confident with my decision moving forward, but am keeping myself grounded in the here and now, making the most of what’s left and sad to see the last few pages of this current chapter turn.

…four…

