Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


How many times have you thought to yourself: I really want to go to Iceland. Has the country ever hit your radar? Do you even know where it is? My guess is that the answer to all three of those questions is “no” for most people. It was for me until a former colleague mentioned it when I announced I was moving to Amsterdam and would be traveling all over Europe for work. “You have to go to Iceland” he said.  Fast forward a little over a year to the point when I got an email from a friend asking if I had any interest in joining her on a trip there in the summer. Based on the earlier recommendation and my desire to travel and do as much as possible, I didn’t even have to think before I answered “Yep, I’m in.”

When I returned to Amsterdam I was still reeling from what I’d seen and quickly sent the following email to the person who recommended Iceland:

Wow. That’s pretty much the only word I can think to use to describe Iceland. The trip was absolutely amazing and I only wish I had more time to see the rest of the country and to go on about a million hikes. Reykjavik is a very cool city with a very cool vibe, but the south of Iceland is absolutely beautiful. Mountains, glaciers, waterfalls, fields of green, miles of wildflowers, horses and sheep everywhere you look, black sand beaches littered with blue and white icebergs. Wow, wow, wow. Thank you for recommending it before I left MH. If it weren’t for that I might have dismissed a friend’s request to join her on this trip and I wouldn’t be sitting here today searching my mind for the right words to describe what I just experienced. Wow. 

If Iceland isn’t on your list, add it. Now. It’s closer than you think and more amazing than even the most beautiful pictures can portray. That’s enough with words, here are a few photos from the first two days (Reykjavik and The Golden Circle). More to follow as I get through them. Whittling 1,045 photos down to a manageable few isn’t easy.

