Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


After a few months of insane travel but only seeing airports, taxis, hotels, and offices I finally managed to get out for a couple of evening strolls while on the road a couple of weeks ago.

Monday night I left Amsterdam for Munich, strategically arriving the evening before a Tuesday meeting nearby. Though I didn’t get to the hotel until 8, I still got out and walked around the old town for about an hour. Unfortunately in Europe everything closes early during the week so not much was open and the area turned out to be more of a shopping district than historic, but I still enjoyed the sights and snapped a few iPhone photos. I’m sure it’s a much different city in the day and that the other areas within Munich are filled with more than shops. Hopefully I’ll find time to get back to Munich for more than an evening.

After Tuesday’s meeting in the oh-so-happening town of Poing I flew from Munich to Vienna, again with a hotel in the center. Vienna is one of the cities I managed to extend a work trip and spend a weekend last year, so I was already a bit familiar with the city and its sights. I really enjoyed Vienna the last time and was looking forward to roaming around again. By 7pm I was out the hotel doors, map in hand, headed in a direction I didn’t explore the last time around. My timing couldn’t have been better as my walk started just as the sun was setting and the orange light reflected off the tops of the buildings.

From my hotel on Mariahilferstrasse, I headed north east through the courtyard between the two Natural History Museum buildings and was immediately re-enchanted with the city. There is something about the architecture in this city that charms me in some certain way I can’t quite put my finger on. The city is green, well manicured, clean and somehow welcoming. My walk continued on the same course and through the center of Vienna wandering this way and that but heading toward the river. The evening was cool, but I wandered, walked, and snapped more iPhone photos until about 9. Oh how I wished I’d brought my camera. Consider it an excuse to come back.

I don’t know what it is about this city but there’s something romantic about it. I recall feeling the same way as I walked around Budapest for the first time last spring. Maybe it’s the time of year or something in the air in this part of Europe, I’m not sure. Whatever it is, it sings to me and I can’t help but swoon. Some day this European adventure may come to an end and if/when it does it will be nights like last night I will remember forever. Walking around Vienna, feeling the city, enjoying a delicious meal, living only in that moment in time.

