Tags

, , , , , , ,


Finally the sun is shining in Amsterdam. The first flowers are starting to bloom. People are beginning to move from indoors out. The city is once again coming alive. Today, for the first time in 2012, I opened my windows to let the sunshine in and enjoy the beautiful day. Not only were the windows open, but in typical Dutch fashion I sat on the windowsill with music on the sound system watching the world go by. I can only hope that the cold days are behind us and warmer ones are in the near future.

It’s amazing how much of a difference a little sunshine can make to my mood, attitude and outlook on things. This city really transforms into a completely different place on days like today. It becomes a place I couldn’t be happier to call home and makes me feel like I’ve fully escaped Funky Town. Here’s hoping Old Man Winter doesn’t rear his ugly head again any time soon and that picnics in the park are just around the corner.

