Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


It’s been 11 days with my two feet on the ground. A week and a half since I’ve been airborne and another six days until I’m floating through the sky in a big metal tube once again. It’s such a silly thing to even notice, but when you consider that I’ve taken close to 70 flights (segments, not round trips) already this year you start to understand why I notice when I don’t fly for two weeks. I fully realize this is more flights than many people take in their entire lives.

The most challenging thing has been sitting at a desk this many days in a row. When my mom was here visiting in May she reminded me of something. Growing up and even in college I never knew what it was I wanted to do when I grew up, but the one thing I was sure of was that I didn’t want to be stuck to a desk all day every day. With this job I (usually) spend 2-3 days a week in the office and get to interact with lots of different people in lots of different places the other days. It’s perfect that way.

Belgium via Instagram

So as not to let this many consecutive desk bound days get to me, I’ve kept pretty busy outside of work. I saw the final Harry Potter movie (skip the 3D if you have the option), went to Belgium with a former colleague (by train and without a passport), and had a girl’s dinner at a Mexican restaurant in Amsterdam (the only food I’ve missed so far, this was a decent fix). In fact, it’s been kind of nice to be home for a longer period of time and just…be, though I do have itchy feet and am looking forward to my 24-hour UK trip next week.

Mid-July to mid-August will have been a slow few weeks travel-wise, but the trip to Russia at the end of August will more than make up. I have my passport and visa in hand and five days booked, three of which are for pleasure, and even managed to find an amazing hotel deal online smack in the middle of Moscow at a five star hotel. On the advice of several people, I’ll not only be picking up a city guide to Moscow, but also (if not already included) something to learn the Cyrillic alphabet. When signs look like this I can only imagine it will help to at least be able to pronounce the words.

Though I think I could figure out this one:

and this one:

Yep, I’m pretty darn excited about this trip and really eager to see what Russia is like. I have a feeling it will be the most different place I’ve ever been. As always, I’m open to your recommendations of things to see/do/eat while in Moscow and any other travel tips you may have. In the meantime, I should probably enjoy these quiet moments at home.

Okay, that was enough. Time to head out and meet some new people.

