Tags

, , , , ,


If there’s one thing about Europe to love, it’s the food. And the beer. Okay, that’s two things but they’re often consumed together so I’m calling it one. Europeans especially know how to bake. The breads, the pies, the pastries. They’re all delectable. And dangerous.

With all of the traveling I’ve done so far this year, it’s been hard to resist the temptation to sample the local fare and also to get into any kind of routine while at home. So far I’ve treated life like one long vacation where calories don’t count. Well, after six months of eating and drinking whatever I’ve wanted, the calories have definitely counted and I’m starting to see and feel the effects. The cheeks plump, the clothes fit a bit tighter, the energy level lessens. It means it’s time to bear down and get in shape. Literally.

Eating healthy, especially while traveling takes work or at least restraint but the results are always worth the work. I’m publicizing this to give myself extra incentive to eat better and get back to exercising regularly. The plan starts today with a run to Oosterpark which is about 5k. Run may be a bit of an exaggeration. Spurts of running between walking and catching my breath may be a better description of what’s to happen.

I’ve never liked running. In fact, I’ve always dreaded and avoided it. But living in this beautiful city I’m talking myself into it by telling myself it’ll be a great way to see more of the city and learn my way around more quickly. So today it starts and we’ll see how it goes. If I can do something active over the three day weekend, that’ll be a good start.

