Tags

, , , , , ,


Put your feet in the sand, a luke-warm beer in your hand and mamma let down your hair. -Roger Clyne

I’m currently lying on the beach in Scheveningen on the Southern coast of Holland typing on my BlackBerry. This may be the first moment I’ve felt homesick. Or is that what I’m feeling? I’m not sure. What I do know is that from the moment the ocean was near, a smile appeared on my face and only grew as I approached the shore. First I felt the breeze and smelled the ocean air, then I saw the sand, and finally I saw the blue-green of the sea and heard the waves crashing. The times I’ve been this concious of all my senses at once are few and far between.

As I lay here in the sand listening to the ocean and the click of the keys on my phone I am thinking about past moments of my life by the sea. Summers with my grandparents and family for a week or two on the beach in Oxnard, living in Huntington Beach and driving PCH to work every day, and of course the weekends I’ve spent over the last seven years in Rocky Point, Mexico with great friends, music, and beer. Being here is bringing back all of these memories and feelings. Maybe it’s not homesick but instead feeling at home by the beach. Something to think about when it’s time.

Fast forward a few hours and I’m back home from my day trip to Den Haag and Scheveningen. The weather was great and it was the perfect way to spend a quiet Sunday. Now it’s time to relax the rest of the evening and prepare for an entire week in the office. Not a single trip anywhere until next weekend when I head to Edinburgh purely for pleasure over Easter. If you have any must see/do/eat recommendations please let me know as I haven’t planned any further than the flight and hotel.

