Tags

, ,


It all still feels very surreal. Like I’m going to wake up in the morning and realize it was all just a dream. This is something other people do, not me. I’m not the one who leaves her whole life behind to move 5,000 miles to a city she’s never been to and where she knows no one. But it is all happening whether I believe it or not. All of my belongings, other than clothing, are in a 10×10 and the things I am taking with me are packed up and ready to go.

My life in a 10x10

Pile o' luggage

Today was my last day at work and tomorrow morning I’ll be on the plane to Amsterdam. As far as last days go, it was a pretty crazy one with back-to-back meetings and a long to-do list. Around noon I finally came to grips with the fact that I wasn’t going to finish everything I’d hoped. From there a weight was lifted. I got through the rest of the day doing what I could. It was also less emotional than I’d anticipated but I had a weird feeling in the pit of my stomach all day. I’ve always been terrible at goodbyes and this one was no exception.

Cleaning out my desk

Tomorrow I leave Reno at 10:00am, layover in LAX then continue to Amsterdam, arriving at 11:30am Sunday local time. Since I wouldn’t want to have too much time to rest, relax, and adjust, I start my new job the very next morning. So tonight I’m laying low. Got to about 90% completion on the packing, went to dinner with Mom, and now It’s time to relax and let it all sink in.

This first trip over will be a 2.5 week stint to meet the project team, get up to speed on my new job, and transition from the person who will I’ll be taking over for. Hopefully once I get there, settle into my apartment, and see my new surroundings I’ll be a bit more at ease.

For now I just don’t know what to expect. I can’t form any kind of mental picture of where I’ll be living or working and there won’t be any familiar faces awaiting me. All of that makes this even more exciting and invigorating. Fingers crossed for safe travels tomorrow and that the Tylenol PM helps me sleep in the cramped quarters of coach. Next time I write, I’ll be in Europe.

